Female EP’s Run the Show at CNN, ABC, CBS for First Time


CNN, CBS, and ABC’s network morning programs all have female executive producers for the first time in network history following Diana Miller’s hire as executive producer of “CBS This Morning” on Thursday, CNN reports.

At ABC, Roxanna Sherwood was named executive producer of “Good Morning America,” in July 2017, and at NBC, Libby Leist became E.P. of the “Today” show in February 2018.

The major shift is one of many firsts this year with women in network television.

Susan Zirinsky, a 46-year veteran of CBS News and the top producer of the “48 Hours” newsmagazine, in January became the first woman to run the network’s news division.

Lilly Singh, an Indian-Canadian who built a career on YouTube as a comedian, in March was tapped to replace Carson Daly as the host of NBC’s 1:35 a.m. ET talk show, becoming the first woman to host a late night TV show in more than 30 years.

“CBS This Morning,” which has been without a permanent executive producer since the December departure of Ryan Kadro, has been in third place for a long time now since the network booted Charlie Rose from one of its anchor chairs.

© 2019 Newsmax. All rights reserved.

Source link